West‎ > ‎

Wheel of the Year

The year in most pagan calendars - and, in fact, most calendars generally - is divided up into "solar terms," or the solstices, equinoxes, and the points in between.  The Chinese lunisolar calendar is divided up even further into twenty-fourths (i.e. at 0º and 15º of each zodiac sign).  Most calendars at least mark the main solar terms at 0º Capricorn (Winter Solstice), 15º Aquarius, 0º Aries (Vernal Equinox), 15º Taurus, 0º Cancer (Summer Solstice), 15º Leo, 0º Libra (Autumnal Equinox), and 15º Scorpio.  And, in fact, most calendar systems and religions around the world reflect this in some manner:

0º Capricorn - Winter Solstice; Yule, Christmas, Hanukkah, New Years.
15º Capricorn
0º Aquarius
15º Aquarius - Imbolc, Candlemas, Groundhog's Day, Chinese New Year*.
0º Pisces
15º Pisces
0º Aries - Vernal Equinox; Ostara, Easter, Passover, St. Patrick's Day, Purim.
15º Aries
0º Taurus
15º Taurus - Beltane, Mayday, Cinco de Mayo, Japanese Greenery Day
0º Gemini
15º Gemini
0º Cancer - Summer Solstice; Litha, Feast of John the Baptist, Dragon Boat Festival.
15º Cancer
0º Leo
15º Leo - Lughnassadh, Lammas, Tisha B'Av
0º Virgo
15º Virgo
0º Libra - Autumnal Equinox; Mabon, Thanksgiving*, Yom Kippur
15º Libra
0º Scorpio
15º Scorpio - Samhain, Halloween, All Soul's Day, All Saints Day, Day of the Dead
0º Sagittarius
15º Sagittarius

Subpages (1): Imbolc